the world academy of sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries


TWAS─Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Prize
This annual prize, named after the TWAS Fellow Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi, recognizes women scientists from Scientifically and Technologically Lagging (STL) countries. It carries a cash award of USD4,000 generously provided by Professor Al-Kharafi and will rotate among various fields of science.
Deadline Extended
31 July 2017
Partner Organizations
Medical Sciences
Age limit

Nominations for the 2017 prize are invited in the field of Medical Sciences.

For a list of the ST-lagging countries, please visit:

Previous winners of the TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Prize

2016 – Marian Nkansah, Ghana


Application doc(s): 
Contact email: 
This website does not use profiling cookies, but only first and third party technical cookies, including cookies from social media plugins.
To learn more about our cookie policy or to change your cookie settings, click here.
By using this website and clicking “accept”, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.